Almost Perfect Mini Mawa Cakes

I attended a dinner party a few weeks back where I had something very close to a Mawa Cake. The thought of baking one myself kept playing on my mind ever since! Finally, one lazy holiday afternoon, I dug up the highly under-used table-top oven and my cupcake molds and decided to bake a batch of Mini Mawa Cakes.

After some research, I picked this recipe to start with. 20 minutes of preparation time, another 25 minutes of baking and the Mawa cakes were done! Even though it was my first attempt at baking Mawa cakes, they turned out surprisingly well! They were soft and fluffy. They were not overly sweet and had a very present but not overpowering taste of Mawa.

However, I was a little unsatisfied with the result so I tweaked the recipe a little and gave it another go. This time the Mawa Cakes were much closer to some of the good ones from my memory. The taste and texture were perfect. But the Mawa cakes were not brown enough from the top!

I am still trying to figure out how to fix the browning problem. One solution is baking the cakes for longer, but that would dry them out. And they aren’t supposed to be dry! Other ideas are welcome. 🙂

Till then, here is my almost perfect Mawa Cake recipe!

mawa1 mawa2

Recipe (Makes about 14 Mini Mawa Cakes)

Ingredients

100 gms Mava (I didn’t make my own mawa (that’s way too time consuming!. You can pick up good quality, fresh Mawa from any decent dairy in Mumbai. The fresher the mawa, the better your cake will taste.)

150 gms Unsifted Flour (1 tbspn unsifted flour = 10 grams approximately. This weight-volume conversion has worked perfectly for me so far.)

1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder (about 2 gms)

2 pinches of Salt (Skip the salt if you are using salted butter. I used salted Amul butter.)

4 Cardamom Pods (Crushed to a powder with a mortar and pestle and skins discarded)

100 gms Butter (Regular salted Amul butter worked great!)

110 gms Sugar (Not icing sugar! I used normal granular sugar as I didn’t have powdered sugar. It takes a little longer to mix but no problem otherwise)

2 Eggs

6 tablespoons Whole Milk

Method

1. Before starting, take the mawa out of the refrigerator and let it come to room temperature.

2. In a bowl, mix all the dry ingredients – flour, salt (if needed), baking powder and cardamom powder.

3. In another bowl, thrown in the mava, crumbling it as you put it in. Add butter and sugar to it. Mix the ingredients with a beater until they form a homogeneous and fluffy mixture.

4. Add the eggs to this mixture, beating each egg into the mixture before adding the next one.

5. Now throw in all the dry ingredients previously mixed and start beating the mixture again. Slowly add in the milk. continuing to beat the mixture again until no lumps are left. Your mawa cake batter is now ready!

6. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius for 10 minutes.

7. Meanwhile, brush the cupcake molds with butter. Pour the batter equally in all molds. Tap the molds lightly to ensure that the batter spreads out evenly.

8. Once the oven is hot, adjust the rack to the middle position, carefully place the molds on the rack and bake for about 22 minutes. (The baking time depends a lot on your oven, 22:30 minutes gave me the best results. Keep an eye on the cakes after 15 minutes have passed to ensure they don’t start burning.) I prefer to remove my mawa cakes at this point. They aren’t very brown from the top but a knife poked in comes out clean.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

